Kat's Cookbook

My first cake sale!

I sold my first cake this week! It was purchased by the brother of a friend of mine. He offered me 20$ (jeez!), but I decided to only sell it to him for ten. 20$ seems a little pricey. He requested a lemon cake, which happens to be my favorite kind of cake to bake (and eat!). I love lemon cake for the moist, thick texture that fills up your mouth with a warm and lemony aroma. He did say it tasted and looked like an expensive cake, which made me happy. I’m glad he enjoyed it! This is my first earning towards an eventual donation to my local animal shelter. I couldn’t be more happy about it!
Donation total: 10$

Lemon bundt cake with lemon glaze
ImageIngredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks), at room temperature
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
  • 1  teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 3  cups  granulated sugar
  • 1 whole lemon, for garnish
  • 2 tablespoons lemon zest
  • 6 tablespoons lemon juice
  • large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1  cup  plain full-fat Greek yogurt (sour cream works too!)
  • 1  cup  confectioners’ sugar
  • (I also throw in a small package of instant lemon pudding mix to add moisture, but this can be omitted depending on preference!)

Directions:
Heat oven to 325° F. Grease a 12-cup Bundt pan. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder.
Using an electric mixer, beat the butter, granulated sugar, and lemon zest on medium-high until light and fluffy, 3 to 4 minutes. Beat in 4 tablespoons of the lemon juice, then the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary.
Reduce mixer speed to low. Add half the flour mixture, then the yogurt/sour cream, and then the remaining flour mixture. Mix just until combined (do not overmix!).
Transfer the batter to the prepared pan and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 65 to 75 minutes. Cool the cake in the pan for 30 minutes, then turn it out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
In a small bowl, whisk together the confectioners’ sugar and 1 of the remaining tablespoons of lemon juice until smooth, adding the remaining lemon juice as necessary to create a thick, but pourable glaze. For some reason, no matter how many times I attempt to glaze a lemon cake, the glaze just soaks right in. I’ll work on perfecting this technique in the future! Add lemon slices or powdered sugar for garnish. Voila! 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

